2013 Edgar Allan Poe Award Winners Announced

Live by Night by Dennis Lehane

Mystery Writers of America has announced the winners of the 2013 Edgar Allan Poe Awards. The annual awards for mystery fiction and nonfiction were presented at the organization's Gala Banquet at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City. Dennis Lehane won Best Novel for Live by Night. Here is the list of winners:
  • Best Novel: Live by Night by Dennis Lehane
  • Best First Novel: The Expats by Chris Pavone
  • Best Paperback Original: The Last Policeman: A Novel by Ben H. Winters
  • Best Fact Crime: Midnight in Peking: How the Murder of a Young Englishwoman Haunted the Last Days of Old China by Paul French
  • Best Critical/Biographical: The Scientific Sherlock Holmes: Cracking the Case with Science and Forensics by James O’Brien
  • Best Short Story: "The Unremarkable Heart" – Mystery Writers of America Presents: Vengeance by Karin Slaughter
  • Best Juvenile: The Quick Fix by Jack D. Ferraiolo
  • Best Young Adult: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
  • Best Television Episode Teleplay: "A Scandal in Belgravia" - Sherlock, Teleplay by Steven Moffat
  • Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: "When They Are Done With Us" – Staten Island Noir by Patricia Smith
  • Grand Master: Ken Follett and Margaret Maron
  • Raven Awards: Oline Cogdill, Mysterious Galaxy Bookstore, San Diego & Redondo Beach, CA
  • Ellery Queen Award: Akashic Books
  • Mary Higgins Clark Awards: The Other Woman by Hank Phillippi Ryan
You can find a list of the nominees here.

Photo: William Morrow

Posted on May 5, 2013

comments powered by Disqus
Recent Headlines

Book Publishing News
Children's Books
Ebook News
General Fiction

Copyright © 1997-2014 by Writers Write, Inc. All Rights Reserved.