Readers Read(TM)

Featured Sections

· Advertise
· Author Directory
· Award Winners
· Bestsellers
· Book Blog
· Book Excerpts
· Book Giveaways
· Book Resources
· Book Reviews
· Book Searches
· Books to Film
· Features
· Future Releases
· Publishing Industry
· Subscribe

Reading Sections

Book Publishing News
Children's Books
General Fiction

Site Information

RSS Feeds

Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award

Established in 1981 by Scott O'Dell, the Scott O'Dell Historical Fiction Award is an annual award presented for a work of historical fiction for children or young adults published by a U.S. publisher and set in the New World.

2001 The Art of Keeping Cool by Janet Taylor Lisle

2000 Two Suns in the Sky by Miriam Bat-Ami

1999 Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule by Harriette Robinet

1998 Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse

1997 Jip: His Story by Katherine Paterson

1996 The Bomb by Theodore Taylor

1995 Under the Blood Red by Sun Graham Salisbury

1994 Bull Run by Paul Fleischman

1993 Morning Girl by Michael Dorris

1992 Stepping on the Cracks by Mary Downing Hahn

1991 A Time of Troubles by Pieter Van Raven

1990 Shades of Gray by Carolyn Reeder

1989 The Honorable Prison by Lyll Becerra de Jenkins

1988 Charley Skedaddle by Patricia Beatty

1987 Streams to the River, River to the Sea by Scott O'Dell

1986 Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan

1985 The Fighting Ground by Avi

1984 The Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare

Copyright © 1997-2012 by Writers Write, Inc. All Rights Reserved.